Virtual go to mines

Virtual Go to Mines Open House

Attend our virtual open house by exploring our collection of videos and presentations! 


Academic Departments

Check out the degree curriculums and descriptions and explore our collection of presentations and videos below to learn how we do STEM at South Dakota Mines. Feel free to reach out to the contacts listed with any questions you have. We’d love to hear from you!

Department Major Resources Contact
Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences AES Video Adam.French@sdsmt.edu 
Biomedical Engineering BME Video Steve.Smith@sdsmt.edu
Johnica.Morrow@sdsmt.edu
Business Management in Technology BMT Video
Student Entrepreneurship
Ivy.Allard@sdsmt.edu
Chemical Engineering CHE Department Page
Kenneth.Benjamin@sdsmt.edu
Chemistry, Biology, and Health Sciences CHEM Video
BIO Video
HEALTH Video
Zhengtao.Zhu@sdsmt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering CEE Presentation
Construction Video
James.Stone@sdsmt.edu
Computer Science and Engineering CSE Video
Virtual Reality Video
Jeff.McGough@sdsmt.edu
Electrical Engineering EE Video
Circuit Board Milling Machine Video 
Thomas.Montoya@sdsmt.edu
Geology and Geological Engineering GEO/GEOL Video
Laurie.Anderson@sdsmt.edu
Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management IEEM Video
Jeffrey.Woldstad@sdsmt.edu
Carter.Kerk@sdsmt.edu
Mathematics MATH Video Travis.Kowalski@sdsmt.edu
Mechanical Engineering ME Presentation
Lab Tour
Haas Mini Mill Video
Pierre.Larochelle@sdsmt.edu
Metallurgical Engineering MET Video
Blacksmithing Video
Michael.West@sdsmt.edu
Mining Engineering and Engineering Management MINE Video Robert.Hall@sdsmt.edu
Andrea.Brickey@sdsmt.edu
Physics PHYS Presentation
Physics Students
SPS Club 
Richard.Schnee@sdsmt.edu
Science, Technology and Society

STS Video

Kyle.Knight@sdsmt.edu

Campus Tours

Tour the campus to get a glimpse into what South Dakota Mines is like! Want to see more? Check out the South Dakota Mines YouTube Channel

Housing and Dining
Contact: ResLife@sdsmt.edu

Campus Tours

South Dakota Mines and Beyond Tour
Residence Hall Tour
Campus Flyover
Virtual Campus Tour
Virtual Tour - Residence Halls

Campus Opportunities

Love STEM? Thrive Here
This is a great school
Career Fair at South Dakota Mines
Student Org Fair at South Dakota Mines

Student Life and Services

Discover more about student life and services at South Dakota Mines!

Office Resources Contact
Athletics Football Video
Men's Basketball Video
Women's Basketball Video
Volleyball Video 
Staff Directory
Career and Professional Development Center Recorded Presentation Matthew.Hanley@sdsmt.edu
Office of Inclusion Recorded Presentation Jesse.Herrera@sdsmt.edu
Dean of Students and Parent Resources Introduction Video DeanOfStudents@sdsmt.edu
Devereaux Library Introduction Video Library@sdsmt.edu
Esports Introduction Video Michael.VanderHeyden@sdsmt.edu 
Financial Aid Schedule a Virtual Visit
Contact Financial Aid PDF
FinancialAid@sdsmt.edu 
Ivanhoe International Center Recorded Presentation
#YouAreWelcomeHere Video
Recorded Presentation - Global Opportunities
International@sdsmt.edu
Music Department Introduction Video
Music PDF
Haley.Armstrong@sdsmt.edu (Band)  
Military Science/Army ROTC  Introduction Video ArmyROTC@sdsmt.edu
SLICE (Student Leadership Involvement Community Engagement) Recorded Presentation  Cory.Headley@sdsmt.edu
Student Success Center Introduction Video Lisa.Carlson@sdsmt.edu
Wellness Center
Intramurals
PowerPoint Presentation Michael.VanderHeyden@sdsmt.edu
WiSE (Women in Science and Engineering) Introduction Video wise@sdsmt.edu

Student Webinars

How Do I Decide? STEM Majors @ South Dakota Mines

South Dakota Mines graduates go on to do great things, and our majors provide the foundation for success! Learn about the 20 STEM majors offered by the university, tips on how to choose a career path, and what it's like to start as an Undeclared major from one of our current students, admissions representatives, and a major advisor.

Where to Start? Finding Your Career Path @ South Dakota Mines

Do you wonder how to choose the major that best matches your interests? Hilary Roman, the Assistant Director in the Career & Professional Development Center, gives pointers on what you should think about when choosing your major and career.

During the session, Hilary will go over how to interpret the results of the Focus 2 Career Assessment, walk through the resources that are offered on this platform, and show you how you can pursue your goals at South Dakota Mines.

First Generation Students @ South Dakota Mines

Current students and representatives from the Financial Aid Office, Student Success Center, Admissions Office, Center of Inclusion, and faculty go over what to expect at college and in the STEM industry, the support system at South Dakota Mines, and tips to succeed.

Webinar Resources Contact
How Do I Decide? STEM Majors
March 2, 2021
Recorded Presentation Katrina.Donovan@sdsmt.edu 
Where to Start? Finding Your Career Path
March 4, 2021
Recorded Presentation  Hilary.Roman@sdsmt.edu
First Generation Students
March 10, 2021
Recorded Presentation  SD-FIRST Program Directory