Faculty and Staff: Humanities

Director, APEX Gallery/Lecturer
Email: Matthew.Whitehead@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 320

B.A., Flagler College
M.F.A., University of Florida

Associate Professor
Email: Haley.Armstrong@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2433
Office: MC 210
B.A.E., Eastern Washington University
B.M., Eastern Washington University
M.M.E., Indiana University
D.M.A., University of Kansas
Assistant Professor
Email: Olivia.Burgess@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 318

B.A., Texas State University
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

 

Assistant Professor
Email: Erica.Haugtvedt@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 310
B.A., Ohio State University
M.A., Ohio State University
Ph.D., Ohio State University
Instructor
Email: Carlie.Herrick@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2481
Office: HUM / CB 324
B.A., University of South Dakota
M.A., University of South Dakota
Senior Lecturer
Email: Joshua.Houy@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 314

B.A., University of South Dakota
M.A., University of South Dakota
J.D., University of South Dakota

Instructor
Email: Constance.Hubbard@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 312

M.A., University of Nebraska

 

Lecturer
Email: Lilias.JonesJarding@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 314

A.A., Oglala Lakota College
B.A., Lawrence University
M.S., Minnesota State University Moorhead
Ph.D., Colorado State University

Instructor
Email: natalie.neumann@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2481
Office: HUM / CB #303
B.A. Western Illinois University
M.A. Western Illinois University
Assistant Professor
Email: Gerhardus.Scheepers@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2433
Office: Music Center

B.Mus., University of Pretoria
M.M., Missouri State University
D.M.A, University of Washington

Instructor
Email: tammy.schnittgrund@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2433
Office: MC 305 / HUM
B.S., Northern State University
M.A., University of Montana
Assistant Professor
Email: Paul.Showler@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 323

B.A., Dalhousie University
M.A., University of Alberta
Ph.D., University of Oregon

Lecturer
Email: Bryce.Tellmann@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 306

B.A., Concordia University, Nebraska
M.A., North Dakota State University
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

 

Lecturer
Email: Evan.Thomas@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 316

B.A., Ohio State University
M.A., Ohio State University
Ph.D., Ohio State University

Associate Professor
Email: christy.tidwell@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2481
Office: HUM / CB 325
B.A., Southwestern Adventist University 
M.A., University of Texas-Arlington 
Ph.D., University of Texas-Arlington
Instructor
Email: Kelly.Weischedel@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB 315
B.A., Northwest College
M.A., University of Minnesota
M.Div., Assemblies of God Theological Seminary
Instructor
Email: karen.westergaard@sdsmt.edu
Phone: (605) 394-2481
Office: HUM / CB 314
A. Kilian Community College
B.A. University of South Dakota
M.A. University of South Dakota
Senior Secretary
Email: Arana.Peters@sdsmt.edu
Phone: 605-394-2481
Office: CB333
B.S., Mankato State University
M.S., Purdue University

Emeritus Faculty

Kathy Antonen - Professor Emerita of Humanities
Leslie M. Baylor - Associate Professor Emeritus of English 
John Dunn - Professor Emeritus
Sidney G. Goss - Professor Emeritus of Sociology 
Stella Hughes - Professor Emerita of Liberal Arts
John N. Kelley - Associate Professor Emeritus of English
James McReynolds - Associate Professor Emeritus of Psychology 
Deborah Mitchell - Associate Professor Emerita of Humanities 
Sally Palmer - Professor Emerita of Humanities   
Rodney Rice - Professor Emeritus of Humanities 
Sue Shirley - Professor Emerita of Humanities 
Judy Sneller - Professor Emerita of Humanities 
Catherine A. Spelts - Associate Professor Emerita of English

Courses, Forms & Requirements

Spring 2023 (pdf)

Fall 2022 (pdf)

Forms & Requirements

FacebookIcon